Frequently Asked Questions

Find answers to common questions about Cloudspire

124
Total FAQs
15
Sections
Show: per page

Heroes & Minions (Units)

6 questions

ENGAGE: Am I allowed to move away from a unit with the Engage talent?

Yes. The requirement to Attack is tied to the Attack step. If you move away from the Unit with Engage so that you are no longer in range to Attack it, you are no longer able to Attack it and therefore unaffected by the Talent.

FLYING: What can damage units with the talent Flying?

Flying only prevents a Unit from being attacked by chips without the talents Flying or Air Defense. A Flying Unit can still be retaliated against when it attacks, even if the Target does not have the talents Flying or Air Defense. Damage from talents like Splash, Impale, and Toxic Secretion still works, as well as Fortress advancements like Brawnen's Forsaken Artillery die or Narora's A.R.C. die. Events like Electrical Storm will also still do Damage to a Unit with Flying. An Attack is a specific part of the Turn in which a Unit or Spire initiates an Attack. All other forms of Damage are not attacks.

If I have two heroes in play can I pay for a third and not deploy it until one of my other heroes leaves play?

No. The total number of heroes you can have In Play is two, or one on the first Wave. Units in the Deployment Stack are In Play so heroes here count against your Hero limit.

LOOKOUT: When I use Lookout, am I allowed to reveal non-adjacent landmarks I look at?

No. The Lookout Talent ends by saying this is not considered exploring. This means effects that trigger off of exploring, like Foreboding, do not trigger, and you do not have the option to reveal landmarks at this time. You may still explore these landmarks during the exploration step of your Turn during the onslaught phase, just with more information about what they are.

SPLASH: Do spires need to roll a hit in order to use the talent Splash?

No. The Splash is used on an Attack, not on the actual dealing of Damage. A Spire is considered to have attacked even if the result of their Attack deals no Damage.

What talents are optional?

Any Talent with the word may is optional and the controlling player can choose if they want to apply the effect. Talents and game effects that do not have the word may are considered to be always Active and the player cannot choose to not apply the effect. If a Talent or game effect says must, then the player is required to follow that text even if a may ability would contradict it. For example, the Brawnen Starting Hero Awsh has the Talent Hunter which says when Attacking a Landmark, this Unit deals +1 Damage. Awsh is considered to always have Hunter Active, so the Brawnen player cannot choose to do less Damage. The Architect Minion has the Builder Talent, which says before or after this Unit's Movement, you may choose one of the following at no cost. The Architect has may in the Talent's text, which means that it is allowed to choose if and when the Talent is used. The Traxxyr Loner Landmark has the Talent Engage which says Units able to Attack this Landmark must do so. Heroes like Awsh normally may Attack, but because the Engage Talent says that Units must Attack it, if Awsh is able to Attack it during the Attack step of the Brawnen's Turn the player does not have an option.

Horizon's Wrath Faction

15 questions

Buccaneer's Pistoleer talent says that it loses an upgrade when it attacks using Pistoleer, but minions normally cannot get upgrades. Is this a typo?

This is not a typo. Pistoleer is also a Talent that heroes, like Mistbane and Captain Tinbeard, can have. The Talent's ability uses the same text for all of them. Sometimes a Minion is able to get Upgrades through other means, and if they do this text would affect the Buccaneer in the same way.

Can Horizon's Wrath cannonballs hit the Greige fortress?

Yes. The cannons from Horizon's Wrath use Attack dice to determine Damage, but it is not actually an Attack. The Greige Fortress only protects against being attacked.

Can Mistbane use Swashbuckler and Pistoleer at the same time?

Yes. Swashbuckler does not have an adjacency requirement; it only increases the Damage dealt from an Attack.

Can Tinbeard attack with Pistoleer against an adjacent unit to flip?

No. Pistoleer requires the Unit be exactly two hexes away in order to use the Talent, unlike range which says up to a certain number of hexes away.

Do enemy spires fire at my unit before they attack with Embolden?

No. Spires only Attack during the Spires Fire step of the Turn. Embolden takes place during whatever step of the Turn it is when it is triggered and pauses the action to resolve the Embolden. Play continues from the same point in the Turn it was when Embolden triggered, regardless of what step of the Turn it happened during. If it is the Spires Fire step of another player's Turn, after Embolden finishes resolving, any Spires in range of the newly Revealed Unit may Attack it even if they were not previously in range of it.

Do units retaliate when they are attacked during their own turn with Embolden?

Yes. Units retaliate the first time they are attacked each Turn, including their own Turn.

Does the Buccaneer have to use its Pistoleer talent if it cannot attack anything else?

Yes. As a Minion the Buccaneer must Attack if it is able to. If this means using its Pistoleer Talent it must do so. Unless another game effect says otherwise it cannot Attack Flying Units because it does not have Air Defense and it cannot Attack Spires because they are not Units.

How many cannonballs am I allowed to shoot at once from Horizon's Wrath cannons?

When firing from the cannons you may fire a single cannonball from any one of the available cannons and roll the Attack die to resolve its Damage. Then, you may repeat this process of firing cannonballs one at a time as many times as you have cannonballs. Cannonballs cannot be combined by shooting multiple at the same time to try and do extra Damage in a single instance. You are also not required to choose if you are going to use another cannon shot until after the previous cannon has resolved.

What is the correction for the Horizon's Wrath fortress advancement Hold 1 - Stowaways?

It should say the cost to return Swabbies through Press Gang, not Invigorate.

What is the specific timing of Tinbeard's Morale and Pistoleer talents?

Morale must be an Active Talent when Tinbeard initiates his Attack. If he makes a Defeat using Pistoleer while on his Promoted Side, he would gain the benefit of Morale even though he flips over to the side that does not have Morale. If he makes a Defeat using Pistoleer while on his Basic Side, he would not gain the benefit of Morale even though he flips over to the side that does have Morale. Since the Pistoleer Talent's text calls for specific rules regarding upgrade removal, it overrides the standard upgrade removal rules when flipping a Hero chip.

What is the timing on gaining upgrades and Pistoleer?

When a Hero with Pistoleer makes a Defeat, the Hero will level up after resolving the Talent. This means that if a Promoted Mistbane uses Pistoleer and defeats an Opposing Unit, he will first flip to his Basic Side and then level up, allowing him to flip back to his Promoted Side.

When a cannon fires against and hits an Elfinkazi and its roost, do they both take damage?

No. Only one of the two chips takes Damage, of Horizon's Wrath's choice.

When triggering Embolden on a Swabbie, can I choose to not move or attack?

No. Invigorate is a may ability which means the choice to do it is up to the player. However, if you do choose to activate it you must move, following normal Minion Movement rules, and Attack if able.

Landmarks

8 questions

Are Gateport landmarks considered path hexes for the purposes of connection to possible marks?

No. The Riftwalk Talent allows Units to move onto it as though it were a Path Hex, but it is not actually a Path Hex. All possible marks must always be connected by Path Terrain, so any adjustment to the play area or relocation of a possible Mark that would require the use of a Riftwalk to access the Mark is not allowed.

Can spires attack landmark minions?

No. Spires Fire during the Spires Fire step of a player's Turn, targeting the Active player's Units. A Landmark Minion is not under the Control of any player so Spires will never Attack them. If a Landmark Minion is under the Control of a player, it can be attacked by that player's Spires because it is controlled by the Active player when the Spire attacks.

Do I get to level up with a hero that removes the last health off the Altar of Aggression?

No. Landmarks with Health stats that are not Units, like the Altar of Aggression, do not get defeated. They are discarded when their Health is removed. Heroes only level up on a Defeat, so a Hero would not level up for removing the Health from this Landmark.

Does teleporting using a Gateport landmark's Riftwalk talent cost any movement?

No. When a Unit teleports, that Unit does not use any amount of Movement to do so and continues its Movement from the point it was before the Teleport.

How much Source do I gain when I reveal the Naroran Altar landmark?

When you reveal the Naroran Altar you gain 1 Source for each Health chip on Active Units Adjacent to it, regardless of who controls those Units. Inactive Units in a Group do not have Health, so you do not gain any Source from those Units when grouped. The Landmark is responsible for the Defeat, not the player, so Source rewards for Units defeated this way are not gained by the revealing player.

When I use the Vision Stone landmark to reveal all other landmarks and the Naroran Rift landmark is revealed, do I get the Source from defeating their units?

No. When you reveal the Landmark, the Vision Stone reveals all other landmarks. You do not gain any benefits from revealing it because it was not you who Revealed it.

Why do landmark minions have movement stats?

Some talents or game effects, like the Relic Edible Bribery or the Greige Minion Mugwump with its Recruiter Talent, allow a player to gain Control of Landmark minions. Landmark minions otherwise do not move on their own.

Market

1 question

Show: per page