Frequently Asked Questions

Find answers to common questions about Cloudspire

124
Total FAQs
15
Sections
Show: per page

Brawnen Faction

8 questions

Are Siege Towers still allowed to attack like normal spires when they use Raze?

Yes. Spires may only Attack once per Turn, and since Raze happens during the Brawnen's Turn it does not impact the Spire's ability to Attack during opponent's turns during the Spires Fire step.

Can I construct a Drilling Outpost spire during the onslaught phase with a spire reward from a landmark?

No. The Drilling Outpost Spire's Mining Talent prevents the Spire from being constructed at any time that isn't the build phase, which includes through the use of a Spire Reward.

Can I use Raze from a Siege Tower I just constructed using a limited build option?

Yes. Both limited build options and the Raze ability happen during the Start of Turn step of a player's Turn, and because it is still during the start of Turn when the Spire is constructed, the Talent is still in the correct timing window to be used.

Can a Forsaken that rolled No attack on its die still retaliate when attacked?

Yes. Retaliation is not an Attack so a Forsaken may retaliate as normal. Additionally, the Forsaken die only applies its effect during the Brawnen's Turn, so the No Attack result would have no effect anyway.

How should the Neglected talent be worded for Brawnen minions?

Both talents should say are the only Faction Minion Type In Play, as neutral Revealed Landmark minions do not prevent these talents from triggering.

If a Siege Tower uses Raze against a fortress gate and does no damage, does it still lose an upgrade?

Yes. The Siege Tower is still considered to have attacked the Fortress Gate even if the resulting Damage is 0. Note that the Fortress Gate only retaliates when Units Attack it, so the Fortress Gate does not retaliate against Siege Tower Spires using the Raze Talent.

What does permanently promoted mean on Brawnen advancements?

When the Brawnen purchase an advancement that says something like minions are permanently Promoted, all minions of the Promoted type In Play and in the Barracks are flipped to their Promoted Side. For the rest of the game the affected minions cannot be selected for Deployment on their Basic Side, but if a game effect would put them back onto their Basic Side, like the Architect's Builder Talent, the effect still resolves normally.

What happens if the Forsaken minion rolls a No Move result while on the top of the deployment stack with other units behind it?

Units in the Deployment Stack are Inactive, so all of their talents are ignored until they deploy. Units that roll dice before Movement, like the Forsaken, will not roll their dice on the Turn they are deployed because their Talent is Inactive at the point it would normally trigger. After a Unit is deployed it will roll the die as normal.

Components

2 questions

If I received the update pack and noticed some of the hexes on my islands are forests but the scenario book says they are plains, which is correct?

Those hexes are plains. The neoprene isles numbers 7 and 8 in the second printing of Cloudspire have some small graphical changes to help with clarity. These hexes were always meant to be plains hexes and the graphics were changed to make that distinction more Clear.

What components are considered limited or unlimited?

Attack, range, and Fortification Upgrade chips are considered limited. Health chips, advancement pegs, and Attack dice are all unlimited. In the rare case you run out, use a suitable replacement. If a component has a discard, like Market chips, relics, or earthscapes, and you run out of these components, reshuffle the discard to create a new supply.

General

13 questions

Can a unit be displaced into an invalid hex?

Yes. Although a Unit cannot be displaced into an Occupied Hex, it can Displace or be displaced into an Invalid Hex. If a Unit finds itself on an Invalid Hex, it follows the rules for invalid hexes located on page 10 of the rules reference.

Can a unit with Flying move through hexes occupied by other units, spires, or other chips?

No. The Flying Talent does not grant the ability to move on or through Occupied hexes. Other Units can Displace a Unit with Flying, but a Unit with Flying cannot Displace other Units unless another game effect allows it to.

Do I still get a turn when my fortress is defeated in a game with three or more players?

Yes. In a free-for-all game of Cloudspire, when your Fortress is pillaged you still take your Turn as normal. Your minions, heroes, and Spires are unaffected by the loss of your Fortress and you still gain rewards for defeating Opposing Units and Spires as normal. In a team game, if any Fortress is defeated that team loses the game.

Does Inactive prevent applying the effects of other talents?

Yes. Unless very clearly stated by the Talent, a Talent will not affect or be affected by Inactive Units. For example, Swashbuckler will not gain +1 Attack from Adjacent Inactive Units and Rally will not promote Inactive Heir minions.

How does campfire mode work?

Campfire Mode triggers at the start of a player's Turn during the onslaught phase when there are no Opposing Units In Play. A Unit is either a Minion or a Hero. Campfire Mode is only intended to be triggered if one side has completely wiped out the forces of all of their opponents. This is not the same as the trigger for the end of the Wave, which happens when there are no Faction minions left In Play on either side. The Wave can end without Campfire Mode ever being triggered. An easy way to remember to check if Campfire Mode has triggered is when all of your opponents take a Turn but do not have the option to move Units because they have none left In Play.

How should minion deployment work?

The current wording on Minion Deployment is a little contradictory and does not accurately convey the design intent. Minion Deployment should work similar to Minion Movement. It should be reworded to the following: If a Minion is on top of your Deployment Stack and you can make any amount of Progress with it by deploying, it must deploy. If a Minion is on top of your Deployment Stack and it can only reach a Hex that is the same distance from its Mark as its starting Hex, it can optionally deploy to move to that Hex. If a Minion is on top of your Deployment Stack and it can only reach a Hex that is a further distance from its Mark than its starting Hex, it cannot deploy. Note that this only applies to minions. Heroes are still required to always deploy at their earliest opportunity to do so, with the one exception being to a Hex that does not lead to their Mark.

If a minion gains an upgrade during the prep phase, can I group that unit under another and keep the upgrades?

You may Group the Minion under others. However, it will not keep the Upgrades, since Upgrades cannot be added to Units in a Group. This includes Units that would form groups mid-Wave, like the Grovetenders Taproots.

What happens if all players only deploy heroes or minions with talents like Neglected?

Since the onslaught phase ends when there are no Faction minions In Play and no Units yet to deploy, the phase will end once all Units have been deployed from their Deployment stacks. This means that the Wave will end during the Movement step of the last player in Turn order, when that player finishes moving their last Unit from their Deployment Stack.

What happens when a minion is sent back to my barracks?

When a Minion is sent back to your Barracks, perhaps by an enemy Talent or Relic, you will get to redeploy it on a future Wave. Minions redeployed this way are treated as new Units and cost their standard CP to deploy. If a converted Landmark Minion or Merc Minion is ever sent to your Barracks, you will be able to redeploy it for free. Note that if you are playing as The Uprising, you will still need to spend CP equal to the Source Cost to deploy a Merc Minion, though you would still be able to deploy Landmark minions for free.

What is the correction for the Player vs Player tutorial?

Rule Book page 32: The Treed only has 1 Movement option but the graphic is incorrect. The Treed should have moved 2 hexes, while still ending Adjacent to Awsh.

When an opposing unit defeats itself, who gets the Source reward?

No one. Unless a Talent or other game effect says otherwise, when a Unit defeats itself the player who is responsible for the Defeat is the controlling player, who does not get rewards for Units they Defeat.

When doing a limited build option can I add extra upgrades to the spire I am constructing at the same time?

At the start of your Turn you may use your limited build options to construct a Spire and then upgrade the Spire you just constructed. Build options are done one at a time, so doing this will use up both of your build options for the Wave, and Upgrades added to the Spire will always go below the Upgrades the constructed Spire starts with. For example, the Brawnen player decides they want to construct a Dispatch Platform Spire and also want to give it an extra Attack Upgrade. They spend 4 Source to construct the Spire, using 1 of their 2 build options, and then spend 3 Source to add an Attack Upgrade to the bottom of their Spire using the second of their build options. The Upgrades on the Spire can be put in any order of the player's choice but the Brawnen cannot put 2 Attack Upgrades above the Range Upgrade in this situation, because the Range Upgrade was added as part of the first Build Option.

When using two limited build options, can I use the influence I gain from constructing a spire in my first build to construct a new spire in my second build?

Yes. When you construct a Spire, the Influence is granted immediately, which you can use to construct a Spire on a Source Well that you may not have had Influence over prior.

Greige Faction

7 questions

Can I use Burrow or Dig on Source wells?

No. Source wells are not considered non-Path hexes and cannot be used for these talents.

Can a Burrower still evolve like other Greige minions or does it have to use its Burrow talent?

The Burrower may still evolve as normal. Note that doing so means that it can be attacked by Opposing heroes, unlike when using the Burrow Talent where it cannot be attacked at all.

Can units move on or through Tunnel Access chips placed by Greige units?

No. In order for a Unit to move onto a Hex, the Hex must be unoccupied in order to be considered a Valid Hex. The Hex is Occupied by the chip so Units cannot move on or through it, including Greige Units, unless another ability says otherwise, like the Greige Fortress Advancement Tunnel System 3 - Shortcut.

Do the Greige get the rewards for units defeated by Toxic Secretion or Toxic Fumes?

Yes. When a Unit is defeated by a Greige-controlled Toxic Secretion Talent or by a Toxic Fumes chip, the Greige are responsible for the Defeat and get the rewards for it. Toxic Secretion from Landmark minions does not count as Greige defeats, as landmarks are not Greige Units. If a Defeat from Toxic Secretion occurs from Echri's Toxic Secretion she gained from the Queen's Chamber Fortress Advancement, Echri levels up. In the rare instance where there are multiple different Toxic Secretion talents and which one caused the Defeat matters, the player whose Turn it is decides the order in which the Damage is applied.

Do you have to choose a Greige minion type when using Splice, or can you choose any minion type?

You do not have to choose a Greige Minion Type. The Minion Type can be any Minion in the game including allies and Opposing minions.
Show: per page