Frequently Asked Questions

Find answers to common questions about Cloudspire

124
Total FAQs
15
Sections
Show: per page

Greige Faction

7 questions

If I have a Broodnest spire and the only adjacent path hex is invalid, do I still spawn a Larva minion at the start of my first turn?

Yes. When a Larva Minion spawns on an Invalid Hex it follows the rules for invalid hexes on page 10 of the rules reference.

If I roll the Evo die and I do not have any more of the rolled unit in my barracks, what happens?

The Larva simply promotes to its Promoted Side. The use of the die is optional, so after seeing the rolled result if that Unit is unavailable your only choice is to forgo the benefit.

When deploying using the Tunnel System - Workers Way, from where do I measure whether I made progress?

Your Units still form a Deployment Stack on your Fortress Gate as normal. When they move off the Fortress Gate they may do so Adjacent to one of the Tunnel Access chips In Play. The amount of Progress they made uses the Fortress Gate Hex as the Hex they started from.

When using the Surrogate Chamber, does excess damage carry over to the Greige fortress and do players get rewards for defeating the defending unit?

Excess Damage is not carried over and the Attacking player does gain rewards, including both Source and leveling up if the Attacking Unit is a Hero. The Fortress Gate will retaliate even when the defending Unit is defeated.

Will an evolving minion retaliate if it is attacked by a hero and not defeated?

Yes. Inactive Units retaliate like other Units. Evolving minions are still on their Basic Side so they retaliate using the stats from their Basic Side.

Groveteders Faction

7 questions

Can Creeping Vines spires use their Creep talent to move onto Source wells?

No. Source wells are not considered non-Path hexes and cannot be used for the Creep Talent.

Can Dywen use Pacify on a unit with Engage?

No. Engage says that Units that are able to Attack must do so. For Dywen, because she can Attack the Unit with Engage, she cannot use her Pacify Talent because she does not have the option to forgo her Attack.

Can units that were summoned through the Summon or Evoke talent attack on the turn they were summoned?

Yes. These talents only prevent a summoned Unit from moving on the Turn it was summoned. Attacking, exploring, and using talents may all be done without penalty.

Can you have more than one unit from basic form on the same hero?

Yes. If you place two Units under the same Hero over the course of multiple waves it will have the talents of all Units under it. However, redundant talents do not stack, so a Hero with two Warbriars under it will still only do one Damage from Impale.

Does the Orgegrowth's Challenge talent prevent opposing units within its effect range from using instead of attacking talents like Weak-point from the hammer and chisel equipment?

Challenge says that any Attack a Hero makes must be against this Unit. Weak Point is itself not an Attack, but it is instead of Attacking. As a result, because the Hero loses its ability to Attack it cannot use an instead of Attacking Talent unless that Talent was directed at the Orgegrowth because the Hero can Attack it.

Is Ybanthe allowed to use Evoke to summon a unit on a non-adjacent path hex?

Yes. The Evoke Talent specifies that the Unit is summoned on the Path Hex closest to Ybanthe, which does not necessarily have to be Adjacent or valid. If the Hex is invalid, for example the Path being summoned on has no connection to the Grovetender's Mark, the summoned Minion will follow the rules for invalid hexes found on page 10 of the rules reference. Note that this is different from a Muskeg Spire, which specifically calls out a Valid Hex in the text for Wallop.

What non-merc sources can defeat a unit with the talent Peaceful?

Peaceful only prevents the Unit from being damaged. An effect that defeats it outright, like Unstable (Uprising), Unstable Rift (Landmark), or Consume (Greige) will not be prevented by Peaceful. Other abilities that do not do Damage will also still affect Wyvankaye, like the Fortress Portal Relic. Note that Equipment gives their abilities to the Unit they are equipped to. So Magic Like Missiles from the Staff of Anvasse, which does Damage, is coming from the Unit it is equipped to and therefore will only Damage a Unit with the Peaceful Talent if the Unit that it is equipped to is a Merc Unit.

Heirs Faction

8 questions

Are Elfinkazi considered to have moved when the unit they are roosted on moves?

Elfinkazi move with the Unit they are perched on. This will trigger effects that happen on Movement, like Toxic Secretion, but does not count as the Elfinkazi's move for the Turn. An Elfinkazi may move after its roost. Importantly, an Elfinkazi does not gain Movement when it moves into a roost, it only changes its Movement stat. If an Elfinkazi moves two hexes from its roost to move onto a Regal Lookout Spire and gain 3 Movement from Roost, it has already moved two hexes this Turn so it can only move one more Hex with its new three Movement stat.

Can a Joust using Fury Kick damage adjacent units with the talent Flying?

Yes. If Fury Kick triggers while Adjacent to a Unit with Flying, the Flying Unit will take Damage. Although Fury Kick is an Attack, the Unit that is being attacked by the Joust is not the Unit with Flying. Flying only prevents the Unit from being attacked, not from being damaged.

Can a promoted Joust minion use its Eager talent on a minion that is on a non-path hex?

Yes. Joust minions can use their Eager Talent on minions even if they are on non-Path hexes. If they do, they would follow the rules for invalid hexes, moving back to valid Terrain at their earliest opportunity. Note that Eager only displaces with minions, not all Units, so Joust minions do not swap positions with heroes that they Target.

Can an Elfinkazi be attacked while on a roost?

Yes. Both the Elfinkazi and its roost are Active and can be attacked by Units and Spires. When Attacking, including with Spires during the Spires Fire step, the Attacking player may choose if they want to Attack the Elfinkazi or its roost. Remember the Elfinkazi does have Flying, so it cannot be attacked by something without Flying or Air Defense. Elfinkazi share a Hex with its roost, so the Elfinkazi and its roost are both Adjacent to the same things at the same time, but the Elfinkazi and its roost are not considered Adjacent to each other.

How many Elfinkazi do I get per wave?

The Elfin Talent gives the Heirs an Elfinkazi when the Unit is deployed and or at the start of the onslaught phase. The Start of the Onslaught phase is the specific instance at the beginning of that phase and triggers one time a Wave. The start of the onslaught phase is not the start of your Turn. It is not typical to get more than three Elfinkazi in a single Wave and a single chip with the Elfin Talent will never activate more than once in a Wave.

How should the Precious talent be worded?

Both Precious talents should say are the only Faction Minion Type In Play, as neutral Revealed Landmark minions do not prevent these talents from triggering.

What does Elfinkazi move and attack like heroes mean on the Roost Roam talent?

This line of text is meant to convey to the player that the Elfinkazi follows all Movement rules for heroes found under the Hero Movement header in the rules reference page 9. Elfinkazi do not have to make progress towards their Mark when they move, they can use as much or as little Movement as they wish, they can move before or after minions but may not interrupt the Movement of minions to perform its Movement. They are able to Attack but may choose not to. Other rules that are applicable to heroes, like the two-Hero limit or Campfire Mode, do not affect Elfinkazi.

What is the correct text for the Heir fortress advancement Kaze Roost 3 - Royal Nest?

The text should say: As a Build Option during the build phase, roll this die and place it on an Heir Fortress Spire until the end of the Wave. That Spire gains or improves the following talents by the rolled result this Wave.

Heroes & Minions (Units)

8 questions

ARMORED: Do units with the talent Armored reduce damage done by retaliation?

No. Retaliation is not an Attack, so effects that specifically refer to attacks like Armored, Flying, or Sourcefield do not interact with Retaliation.

Can I choose not to retaliate with one of my units?

No. Retaliation is not optional. A Unit, including heroes, must retaliate the first time it is able to in a Turn. If a Unit has not retaliated because it was not able to, perhaps because it was attacked at range, it is still able to retaliate, assuming it is not defeated by the Attack.

Can I make a lateral move?

Generally not. Progress is only determined by the start and end positions of the Minion's Movement. A lateral move is only available as an option when, at the start of a Minion's Movement, it is unable to make Progress using any amount of Movement. If a Minion can move two hexes at the start of its Turn and make Progress, it must move two hexes and make Progress, even if its second move does not make Progress.

Can minions move backwards on their turn?

When determining how much Progress was made after a Minion moves, the only thing that the player needs to look at is the starting position of the Minion and the ending position. You do not check each Movement to see if those movements get closer to the Mark. If there is a way for a Minion to make progress towards their Mark and using their full Movement, the direction that move is made does not matter so long as the Minion does not re-enter hexes that it started on and or moved through during that Movement.

DEVOTED: Who gets to use the benefit of Devoted? Is it only The Uprising?

When the Unit is considered a Landmark Minion, it is only Friendly to The Uprising. However, only the player that originally owned this Unit and initially triggered the ability is the one who can then utilize the Build Option.

Do minions have to use talents and or displacement during their movement?

It depends. A Minion must use its full Movement if possible and make progress towards their Mark if possible. If a Minion can do both without using a Talent or displacing another Unit that can be displaced, the Minion is not required to. However, if the only way a Minion is able to make progress towards its Mark using its full Movement is by displacing a Unit that can be displaced or using a Talent that allows it to make additional Progress, it must do so. A Minion cannot make some Progress while not using its full Movement, or not make Progress at all, if an optional ability would allow it to. Common examples of this are displacing Friendly heroes, displacing Units with the Flying Talent, using the Talent Incorporeal to move through Units, or using the Talent Crush to Displace Units.

Does displacement count as moving?

Yes and no. Displacement counts as the Unit moving for the purposes of effects that trigger off Movement, like Survival, but does not count as the Unit's move for the Turn. A Unit is considered to have moved for the Turn only when the Unit has done so during the Movement step of the player's Turn.

Does my hero heal to full health when it is promoted?

No. When a Hero promotes it gains the difference in its Health Stat, not its current Health. For example, when Kram the Mighty promotes, the Health Stat on his Basic Side is 5 and the Health Stat on his Promoted Side is 6, so Kram gains one Health, regardless of how much Health he had when he Promoted.
Show: per page