Frequently Asked Questions

Find answers to common questions about Cloudspire

124
Total FAQs
15
Sections
Show: per page

Market

5 questions

Do heroes equipped with Makeshift Wings gain the ability to move on any terrain?

No. The Flying Talent does not change the Unit's Terrain Allowance. A Hero with a forest Terrain Allowance and Makeshift Wings is still restricted to forest Terrain and below. That Hero may not move on mountain and water hexes.

Does Londil's talent Leech happen before or after retaliation?

Londil will always trigger Leech and heal after Retaliation, as the attacker or retaliator. Page 2 of the rules reference under Attack explains that an ability that triggers after Attacking does so after Retaliation because Retaliation is considered to be part of the Attack.

Is the Tracker talent missing from the landmarks reference sheet?

The Tracker Talent can be found in the corresponding section of the reference.

What is the purpose of having the talent 1 Range on a unit if units can already attack adjacently?

The Merc Hero Yewsel and the Equipment Slingshot both have the Talent 1 Range. Heroes with the Range Talent are allowed to gain range Upgrades when leveling up, unlike most other heroes.

When a unit activates Time Vials' Back to the Future talent, will enemy spires in range attack after the movement?

No. Back to the Future grants a move and an Attack, which happen during the end of the Turn. No other steps of the Turn are repeated. It is still part of the same Turn so Units that retaliated this Turn will not be able to retaliate again.

Narora Faction

7 questions

Are Naroran heroes removed from the game when defeated?

No. Narora's heroes are put into the Forgotten Graves when they are defeated, unlike other factions. This means that the Narora may redeploy defeated heroes, so long as they unlock their Forgotten Graves advancements to bring them back. Heroes returned from the Forgotten Graves are returned on their Basic Side and with no Upgrades and deploy with full Health.

Can Anjabin use Source Aura on a turn he does not move?

Yes. After Movement only refers to the timing restriction of when Anjabin can use the Talent. Anjabin may use Source Aura after using any amount of Movement, including zero, but if Anjabin elects to use Source Aura, he cannot move any more that Turn.

Can you explain what happens when Narora heroes possess various minions?

Forsaken (possessed): You may possess a Forsaken Minion, because possession does not form a Group. Before the Forsaken moves it still rolls the Forsaken die and adheres to the results. The Medium is no longer considered In Play when possessing the Forsaken, so if the Forsaken is the only Minion In Play while possessed the Wave will end as part of the Neglected Talent, and the Medium will continue to possess the Forsaken going into the next Wave. Elfinkazi (possessed): When you possess an Elfinkazi, the Roost Talent from the Unit it is on, if any, still applies. The Roost Talent does not specifically state that the Unit must be Friendly. The Elfinkazi cannot Attack their roost unless they move Adjacent to it, because the two share a Hex and are therefore not Adjacent to each other. When the Elfinkazi uses the Glidebomb or Save Talent, the Medium is defeated. The Elfinkazi is not defeated and the Heirs may use the Elfinkazi again during their next Wave as normal. The Medium is no longer considered In Play when possessing the Elfinkazi. If the Elfinkazi is the only Minion In Play while possessed, the Wave will end as part of the Precious Talent. The Elfinkazi will return to the Heirs Barracks to be used in a future Wave and the Medium will be sent to the Forgotten Graves. Humminger (possessed) with an Elfinkazi: When you possess a Humminger that has an Elfinkazi perched on it, the Elfinkazi remains on the roost as normal. The Roost Talent does not specify Friendly Units. The Elfinkazi continues to move with the Humminger as it moves and the Heirs continue to Control the Elfinkazi, since it is not possessed. The Elfinkazi and Humminger are not Adjacent, so neither Unit may Attack each other while the Elfinkazi is roosted. Taproot (possessed): While possessed, a Taproot cannot use the Summon Talent. While the Narora have full Control of the Taproot, they lack the appropriate Units to summon from their Barracks. Architect (possessed): While possessed, an Architect cannot use the Builder Talent to construct Dispatch Platforms. While the Narora have full Control of the Architect, they lack the appropriate Spires to construct. Possessed Architects may still add Upgrades to Adjacent Spires or even flip Adjacent Dispatch Platforms into Siege Towers, if they choose. When the Architect is removed from the board using its Talent, it returns to the Brawnen's Barracks to be deployed again later. It is not defeated, so the Medium does not prevent this. The Medium is then sent to the Forgotten Graves. The last Unit my opponents Control: If a Minion is possessed and all remaining Faction Units are Friendly to each other, the Narora's heroes will go into Campfire Mode at the start of their next Turn as normal. When the Medium is defeated and the possessed player gains Control of their Minion again, the Naroran heroes will not become Active. Campfire Mode persists for the entire Wave once triggered.

How do Narora interact with Portal spires on their fortress Source wells?

Fortress Source wells are Adjacent to the Fortress Gate Hex. Units may freely deploy directly into this Spire. Naroran heroes may Teleport from another Naroran Rift in the play area to this Spire. This is not considered Returning to the Fortress gate; the Naroran heroes still need to spend Movement to move onto the Fortress Gate Hex. Naroran minions cannot normally Teleport to a Spire on a Fortress Source Well because they are required to make Progress while moving if they are able to.

If a spire's upgrade capacity includes their starting upgrades, why do Refractor and Monolant spires only have an upgrade capacity of 2?

A Spire's upgrade capacity only limits a player's ability to add Upgrades using a Build Option during the build phase or during the onslaught phase as a Limited Build Option. The upgrade capacity does not limit the total number of chips a Spire may have. For example, the Narora construct a Refractor Spire with Attack and range. They do not have any other Spires In Play. Although the Refractor has three Upgrades with a capacity of two, the excess Upgrades are not removed. The Narora cannot add any more Upgrades to this Spire until its upgrade capacity is greater than The number of Upgrades it has, through a combination of constructing more Spires with the Connected Talent and or the Spire losing Upgrades during gameplay. If a second Spire with Connected was constructed and the Spire lost one upgrade from the opponent Attacking it, then its upgrade capacity is three and it has two Upgrades from having a chip removed by the opponent. This Spire can now have one upgrade added to it.

May I use the Riftwalk talent from a Gateport landmark to teleport to a Portal Spire in play?

No. Naroran Rift allows the Unit to Teleport to a chip with the Riftwalk Talent, but the Riftwalk Talent does not allow the Unit to Teleport to a Naroran Rift.

When Anvasse uses Matter Distortion, do you get to construct a spire for free on that earthscape like in the build phase?

No. The ability to construct a Spire on a placed earthscape is tied to the Place Earthscape Build Option. A player can use a Limited Build Option to place a Spire on the newly placed earthscape's Source Well or wells at the start of their Turn, so long as they have Influence over the Hex the Source Well is on.

Relics & Events

1 question

Solo & Co-op

1 question

What errata and clarifications apply to solo and co-op play in Cloudspire?

Solo Rulebook, page 6: The blue box that starts with Place swamp landmarks on should read: Place swamp landmarks on the Source Well Adjacent to the Brawnen Fortress Gate and the Source Well two spaces from the Heir Grovetender Fortress Gate. Cover the other two Source wells with random landmarks. Learning the Vines: The build phase section for Wave 1 and Wave 2 instruct the Grovetenders to build a Reetall Spire with Attack and fortification when both should be Attack and range. The graphics in the rest of the walkthrough that show them as Attack and range are correct. For complete errata list, see the full rulebook.

Spires

9 questions

Am I allowed to construct a spire if I cannot place all of its starting upgrades because the supply for that upgrade type has been used up?

Yes. In the rare instance that a Spire would be constructed and you lack the appropriate upgrade chips to construct the Spire with all of its Upgrades, use as many Upgrades as possible, forgoing the rest. You cannot voluntarily construct a Spire with fewer Upgrades if the supply is fully depleted.

Do merc spires or spires of another faction under my control count as faction spires?

Yes. A Faction Spire is a Spire that is under the Control of your Faction. However, just like with Units, they are still not considered for effects that specifically refer to your Faction. For example, if the Grovetenders construct Babel, a Merc Spire, and also have the Fortress Advancement Spire Precision which says that attacks made by Grovetender Spires deal extra Damage when they roll blanks, this advancement has no effect on Babel. In Narora solo Chapter 1, Saints Will Persevere, the Narora have Control over multiple Grovetender Spires. These Spires are considered Faction Spires, but are not considered Naroran Spires and will not increase the CP for the Naroran player.

Do spires firing count as an attack?

Yes. Even though Spires roll Attack dice and activate during the Spires Fire step, this is still an Attack made by the Spire and is affected by all talents that interact with Attacking.

Does a spire's starting upgrades count against their upgrade capacity?

Yes. A Spire's upgrade capacity lets the player know how many Upgrades a Spire can have under it before it can stop gaining Upgrades using build options. For example, a Dispatch Platform has an upgrade capacity of three and starts with an Attack Upgrade and a Range Upgrade. The Dispatch Platform has two Upgrades already so it can only gain one upgrade using a Build Option. A Blade Wall Spire from the Market has an upgrade capacity of zero and starts with three Attack and one Fortification Upgrade. Since it has an upgrade capacity of zero, the player cannot use a Build Option to give the Spire any new Upgrades. Other game effects that would grant it Upgrades that explicitly say ignoring upgrade capacity can still give this Spire new Upgrades.

How does an Inactive spire work?

Inactive for Spires functions in all the same ways that it functions for Units. When the Spire is Inactive, it cannot Attack, be attacked or damaged, or use its talents.

If I am at my spire limit, am I allowed to voluntarily remove one of my spires to make room?

No. Once a Spire is constructed it cannot be removed until it is defeated or a game effect specifically removes it. You may not construct more Spires than the Spire limit, even when using a Spire Reward from a Landmark.

If a spire has no range upgrades, can it attack?

Yes. A Spire's range is default Adjacent, and its range is increased by one for every Range Upgrade it has. This means a Spire with one Range Upgrade can Attack Units up to two hexes away.

MULTI-TARGET: Can my spire with Multi-target deal damage to units with the Flying talent?

A Spire with Multi-Target still needs a valid Target during the Spires Fire step of the Turn. If the Spire does not have Air Defense, the Spire cannot declare an Attack against a Unit with Flying. However, if the Spire does Attack, it will still apply its Attack to all Units within range, including Units with Flying. Flying does not prevent the Unit from taking Damage, it only prevents the Unit from being attacked.

When spires fire, do I choose the targets for all of my spires at once?

No. During the Spires Fire step of the Turn the controlling player chooses a single Spire that has not made an Attack and has an Opposing Unit within its range, declares which Unit they wish to make the Attack against, and resolves their roll against that Unit. They repeat in this fashion until all Spires that can Attack have done so. This means if a Unit wasn't in range of a Spire at the start of the Spires Fire step but becomes in range later in the step due to a Talent or other game effect, that Unit can be attacked by Spires that have not yet attacked.

Uprising Faction

7 questions

Can I build a Waygate on the separate island made in the Portal Seekers Anomaly game mode?

No. Build Waygate only allows the Uprising to build a Waygate in a place that is connected by Path. Although the Riftwalk Talent allows Units to move on and off the island, it is only treated as a Path Hex for Unit Movement. When considering connection to the Mark, the Riftwalk Talent is not considered.

Do Uprising units retaliate when attacked by friendly units?

Yes. A Unit will retaliate the first time it is attacked each Turn.

Do merc units purchased by the Uprising return to their barracks when they are defeated?

No. Mercs controlled by the Uprising are still Merc Units and follow all the normal rules for Merc Units, including being added to the Market discard when defeated or removed from the game if they are heroes.

Does Netorut deal 2 damage to landmarks when he gains Hunter through the Thief's Den - Hunting Contract advancement?

No. Netorut, and any other Unit that has Hunter naturally like the Mountaineer, will not benefit from this advancement. Redundant skills do not stack together.

Does Netorut lose the difference in health when he uses the Build Waygate talent and flips to his basic side?

No. While heroes do gain the difference in their Health when they promote, they do not lose Health when going back.

Does Unstable on Uprising Waygates defeat groups of units like Unstable Rift?

No. Unstable specifically defeats Active Units. Units in a Group are not Active and therefore cannot be defeated by Unstable. When this ability is used with Adjacent groups only the topmost Minion is defeated in the stack.
Show: per page